St Mary's Conduit, Lincoln, Lincolnshire

St Mary's Conduit, Lincoln, Lincolnshire

In the grounds of St Mary-le-Wigford's Church, next to the High Street level crossing, is the unique St Mary's Conduit, where residents collected their drinking water from the mid 16th century up until the early 20th century.

This ornate structure - a conduit head - was built using architectural fragments from the Whitefriars/Carmelite Friary which stood until early 16th century dissolution during the Tudor reign.

After the religious houses were closed, the Lincoln Corporation acquired the conduit and extended it to a faucet at the Stonebow, replaced in the late 18th century by the conduit on an Obelisk on High Bridge, and extended it further in the late 19th century.

Lincoln�s conduits were popularly trusted more than the mains water during the typhoid epidemic of 1904/5.

Address St Mary's Conduit
1 Sibthorp Street
Telephone 01522 881188
Area More information on Lincoln